, attached to 1994-11-02

Review by MrPalmers1000DollarQ

MrPalmers1000DollarQ Just as 12/30 is a reliable date for an absolute smoking show in anticipation of NYE, 11/2 has a track record of putting out some heaters after a lubricating Halloween performance (see '96 Coral Sky and '98 Dark Side of the Moon for reference). The Bangor '94 show has provided some really awesome officially released tunes. Foam (on Live Bait 9) features some really great rhythmic play, tension, and above-standard dynamic drive, arguably bookending the song's golden era along with the legendary 12/14/95 performance. Possum (on Live Bait 19) plays with a cool Spencer Davis jam that prevails even into Trey's solo. But even after this motif is abandoned, the band takes off down that road, recklessly mowing down whatever vermin may scuttle in their way. Trey's shredding is on another level for this one, and there's some really excellent departures from the standard solo structure as the band approaches the peak. Of course, the mighty [i]ALO[/i] Tweezer packs a heavy-ass punch. This version is in many ways the spiritual predecessor to the Bozeman 11/28/94 Tweezer that would follow, notable for its numerous, diverse sections and crazy creative Type II jamming. Just scrub through the song a few minutes at a time and you could trick any unfamiliar party into believing they're hearing totally different jams. Outside these official releases, the show features a stellar first set that includes a spirited Suzy Greenberg with a fun Stairway tease in Trey's solo, a blazing Maze that burns white hot with dissonance and fury (Fishman is fucking ballistic), a cool Stash unique for its departure into major mode territory, and a kick-ass Mule with some awesome collaboration between Page, Mike and Trey. Second set is mostly carried by Tweezer and Possum, but the rest of the tunes are nonetheless delivered with that special Fall '94 gumption (especially Mango Song).
, attached to 2000-10-06

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround 10.6.00 Attended! SET 1: Carini: Check out the Glide tease before Carini starts. Stash: Huge, screaming peak from Trey, I love this version. In any era! It doesn’t have as much tension building as some from the early and mid 90’s – but still this one is awesome! Boogie On Reggae Woman, Mellow Mood, Maze, The Moma Dance: Standard: Run Like an Antelope: Total face melter. Rips HARD. First set summary: Stash and Antelope both smoke, have lots of replay value as I can attest listening to both many times over the years. SET 2: Heavy Things: Standard. Down with Disease[1] -> Spock's Brain: Great segue into Spock’s! The Inlaw Josie Wales, Rift, Cities: Standard. Sand: Solid Sand, very groovy. > Golgi Apparatus, Brian and Robert, Bold As Love: Standard. ENCORE: El Paso[2], Chalk Dust Torture[3] > West L.A. Fadeaway[2] Second set summary. There is just nothing to grab on to here outside of Sand and the Bob Weir sit in did very little for me. I am sure many enjoyed it though. I had a great time, and it was my first show at this venue.
, attached to 1995-10-07

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: Julius: To open the show certainly could set the tone for what is to come. The boys definitely rip this one. Gumbo: First of the tour, good placement. I bet Page was happy to get the early spotlight as he shines here. Trey sounds awesome in his solo, I really like how he kind of bounces back and forth on this one, little thing. > The Fog That Surrounds: Played at 6 of the first 9 shows. Trey gives this a good ripping around the 5.5 minute range > Mound: First of the tour. Possum: The seven and eight minute range are largely spent on building a great amount of tension for the imminent release which explodes at 10:16. Rocking Possum. The Mango Song: First of the tour. Acoustic Army, Wilson: Standard > Run Like an Antelope: Page and Trey have a little duel before the jam kicks off. This version reaches great heights but I feel like there was one more gear they could’ve got there but didn’t quite get there. First set summary: Good set with tons of variety as three tunes were played that hadn’t been played yet this tour. Possum and Antelope both have replay value. SET 2: Makisupa Policeman: Heady way to come out of the setbreak and has a cool, spacey jam. Cars Trucks Buses: Split Open and Melt: Briefly in the mid 4:00’s there is some major chord type jam going on but it’s brief and is over with before the five minute mark. Trey and Fish do a great job creating dissonance in the mid 7 minute range – amazing how lock step they are with each other. The jam from there gets equal parts evil and heavy metal. I love the them that Trey locks onto in the last couple of minutes in bringing this one full circle and then they bring it way down before going for the final coda. Fish on the wood blocks is cool. The ending to this one is almost to cutesy pie for me. They sort of lost all the momentum that they had built up and then they mess around for too long and the ending doesn’t get the peak it deserves. Strange Design: Standard. It's Ice: This jam is exceptional and an absolute must hear for any fan. Page and Mike drive this one into very spooky territory. Check it out > Contact: The brief Mike solo jam in the intro is cool! > Frankenstein: First one since 6.7.95 and you can tell it’s been a minute as Page and Trey are not entirely on the same page as Trey kind of cuts off Page’s jam. Harry Hood: This one I have struggled with over the years because it’s built up in such an incredible way with the silent jam. There is quite the shushing effort during this. To not peak this version really leaves you wanting more and is somewhat difficult for me to stomach. Sweet Adeline: Standard. ENCORE: Fire: Standard. Second set summary: Makisupa, Split, Ice and Hood all have replay value. Very strong set and best show of the tour so far by a good measure.
, attached to 2002-10-28

Review by PHATTSKIS

PHATTSKIS Fun weird Pork Tornado show in Scary Ho's! Have been making a collection of every PHiSH related show I have seen and I can't seem to find a recording for this one. Just realized that was almost 20 years ago--WOW (today is 10/4/2022). I sold my taping gear after Vegas 2000 so I guess this old phreak won't be 100% complete (I have all the old Oysterhead, Phil and Phriends, PHiSH, and TAB shows I have seen already.) Also, I miss my second home town of Park City--21 seasons there.
, attached to 1989-10-01

Review by thelot

thelot First off, this is definitely an Audience Recording not a SBD. Set 1 sounds good but has a few Cassette generations in it’s lineage. The second set sounds much brighter as the source tape is closer to the master. Really nice audience recording overall. Unfortunately, there are a handful of cuts throughout. There’s a tape flip in the middle of YEM that cuts out the beginning of the jam section. Another awesome night of music! It seems the band is really bringing the heat on a nightly basis this tour. The transitions in and out of sections of Fluff Travels has been impressive and has spiced up sets this tour. When they were using these sections of Fluff Travels to transition back in ‘87 it wasn’t as tight. I’m curious why they decided to shelve Fluffhead in order to pull out this old back of tricks again? Reba made it’s debut at this show. I really love this version! I love everything about it. I’m so grateful someone was there with mics to capture this epic debut at The Front! Highlights: Hood, Antelope, Reba!!!, YEM->Brain
, attached to 2000-10-05

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround Pre-show – Had an awesome time in the lot. No hassles, plenty of cool folks to chat up. Was feeling fine by the time I hit the line to get in. SET 1: Chalk Dust Torture: Always a fan of this in the opening slot. Guyute: Nice, pregnant, evil pause with dark loops before “I’m bouncing like a newborn elf”. At this point, this has already bested 10.4.00’s first set, and they are two songs in. I am only half kidding. Wolfman's Brother: This is sick, has old school funk, Mike is snapping and popping, old school 97 effects at 6:05 and continuing for 20 seconds or so and they slide right into -> Sneakin' Sally Through the Alley: First time played this tour, last time played 6.30.00 in Hartford. This one is extremely short though. Limb By Limb: The quiet, subtle groove they land in around 6 minutes is sublime. They don’t linger there too long, less than 30 seconds. The whole band sounds great in this jam, each an equal part, a four headed monster if you will. Trey trills it up at 7:48. By 9:00, they are bringing it on home. Good jam. Come on Baby Let's Go Downtown: Second and last time they ever played this tune, fine with me given the implications it carries with it > Beauty of My Dreams > Axilla, Horn > Possum: This segment was standard stuff. First set summary: This first set is just night and day from the night before. SET 2: Drowned: Smokes through 10.5 minutes and then quiets down for about a minute and then ramps right back up and then gets quiet again at 12:48 but once again that doesn’t’ last for long as about 20 seconds later they are ramped right back up. At about 14:20 Trey changes the whole feeling of the jam, and it seems bound for a transition into the next song -> NICU: That was an incredible segue and belongs on the all-time segue list – that was amazing. > David Bowie: For a brief moment at 8:48 there is a major chord jam but then it settles back into typical Bowie territory. At about 9:50 Trey starts bending some notes – this sounds really cool in here – this is very brief, and the jam gets quite sparse and ambient up until about 11:10 when things start to perk up once again. This is the four headed monster we all know and love – no one person is leading this jam instead it is a collective effort – very 2000. More note bending by Red at 12:10 and they are doing a wonderful job of creating tension at this point. At 12:42 Trey is back in the lead and the intention is clear that they are going to start heading for the traditional Bowie climax. Big old loops at 14:45 creating more tension. That peak we’ve all been waiting for at 15:10. That was a very solid version – nothing really stands out and grabs your attention and demands too much praise – just a workmen like version of David Bowie. Halley's Comet: Everybody is pumped to hear the opening notes of this one! This seems to be played at a slower tempo than most. Not much of a jam to this one but they do crush what little jam there is. -> Walk Away: Trey decided to rip cord the Halley’s into Walk Away which takes Fishman by surprise – not much to write home about here in this Walk Away. Piper: No patience with this intro, ants in the band’s pants and straight for the rock and roll. When trey ramps this up at 3:04 you can hear that signature 99 sound that he employed so frequently in fall and winter 99. Fishman is like animal from the Muppets at 4:30 to drive the band to play this as fast and intense as possible. By the 9-minute mark they begin to back off that breakneck pace as Trey is opting for some effects and by 11 minutes, they are definitely in that groove-based jamming that is so prevalent in 2000. Fishman is doing what he can to drive a more engaging jam but the other three are not buying what he is selling. Eventually this gets very quiet and segues in the back door into > Character Zero: Early on in the jam Trey employs that sludgy, muddy tone. Fish flips the script at 5:18 and things are really dark and dirty. At 5:55 is sounds like Mike is going for DwD. Next thing you know Trey is sing Fast Enough For You over the top? This is awkward but brief and over in 20 seconds as is the entire song. Trey starts rambling about how thankful they are to be able to play in your town in LA and then goes on to say they are the fourth best band behind Tenacious D, Van Halen and Frank Zappa and that they had a great time playing here tonight and no kidding we hope to come back soon. Come back soon? But they are going on hiatus? Good, old rambling Trey. ENCORE: While My Guitar Gently Weeps: Trey has some really nice sustain around 5:10 and then moving forward makes that ‘doc weep. Second set summary: So, attendance bias might have something to do with it, but I fell a little more compelled to grade this higher than the 3.5 that is on .net. Drowned, Bowie and Piper all have replay value. None of them are amazing but they are solid jams. I had a ton of fun pre-show in the lot and inside the show and would grade this as a 3.75 out of 5.
, attached to 1989-09-21

Review by thelot

thelot This is a pretty good SBD recording. There’s a decent amount of audience in the mix. An enjoyable recording overall. The only down side is that half of set 2 is missing. :( Set one is well played with a handful of nice transitions. The most notable comes during McGrupp>Who Do? We Do!>Bowie. Bowie starts up right before the “David Bowie” chorus kicks in. Very cool! Another nice version of Bowie here, even though it’s not as experimental as a few recent versions played. MSO seemed to be played a bit slower than the debut version in Bennington. Set 2 continues with more tasty fluffanutter transitions. I wish we had the entire set to review because the first half is awesome! This one is definitely worth a spin. There’s a bunch of uncirculated shows that preceded this one. I’m curious when they started incorporating these Fluff Travel transitions into their sets. It’s possible this is the first show of the tour where they start doing this.
, attached to 1995-10-03

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: Maze: Always wanted to see this open a show, closest I ever got was opening the second set at 10.18.95. There is a point in Page’s solo where he nearly stops altogether. Trey rips his solo, this is a solid version. Guelah Papyrus, Foam, Fast Enough for You, I'm Blue, I'm Lonesome[1], Free, The Man Who Stepped Into Yesterday > Avenu Malkenu > The Man Who Stepped Into Yesterday, Sample in a Jar > You Enjoy Myself: All of this was standard as standard gets. Trey talks trash to the crowd again before IBIL telling them how they are going to demolish the fans in chess. TMWSIY was beautifully played. YEM for me was below average as Trey spent a good amount of time on his drum kit while Page led the jam. That is a forgettable set, one that I will never revisit. SET 2: Timber (Jerry the Mule) Nice to see this is likely back in the rotation after the huge bustout at Sugarbush. Great tune to open the second set. This is played at lightning speed. > It's Ice: This is played very fast as well. Decent little jam. > Sparkle: Standard. > Harry Hood: Cool placement. Awesome spacey, creepy effects leading up the lyrics. This is a very underrated Hood. They don’t peak it as hard as I would have liked but all that leads up to it is really enjoyable, check it out! Billy Breathes: Standard. 4th time played in 5 shows on the tour so far. Faht: Pretty big bust out, 99 show gap and second to last time ever played with Fish on acoustic guitar. It’s horrible, lol. Sweet Adeline: Standard. Split Open and Melt: Solid Melt – Page on the baby grand really pushes Trey in the jam, very cool. The Squirming Coil ENCORE: Rocky Top
, attached to 2000-10-04

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround I spent the days between Phoenix at Chula Vista at Joshua Tree National Park girding myself for the final four shows and generally getting recharged. SET 1: The Moma Dance: Solid start, can’t go wrong with this tune opening a show. > It's Ice: The jam is very spacey, dark, and intense. Given the right circumstances, this could put you on the moon. Check it out… > Bouncing Around the Room > Funky Bitch: Standard. Reba: This version is actually pretty good. What’s interesting though, as Trey is shredding away – listen to Page. He sounds half asleep at the switch. Very telling. This one doesn’t have a true traditional Reba peak. Dog Faced Boy: Standard. Run Like an Antelope: Again, listen to Page in the intro. Just barely there, sleepwalking. When it’s all said and done though, this Antelope does smoke. “Been you to have any spliff, man?” First set summary: Not much here to sink your teeth into. It’s a shame because I thought they would come out guns blazing after having two days off, but it was not to be. Reba and Antelope are good but nothing I would revisit even though I attended. Very, very short set – 59:30. Pretty weak, I mean they just had two days off for crying out loud and they have four shows left? I would have loved to have been a fly on the wall with the band pre-show and at setbreak to see what all was going down. SET 2: Rock and Roll: Straight ahead rager, good out of the gates, everybody is on their feet and dancing > Also Sprach Zarathustra: Nice groove fest, I really enjoyed this – nice and lengthy > Sample in a Jar: Why? Gotta Jibboo: Very solid jam. Never gets outside of its structure but in fine all the same. Bug: I know many likely were not digging this placement, but I was not one of them. I am a fan of this tune, always have been and always will be. This one truly rips, and Trey gives it what for. This version has extra juice. > Harry Hood: Trey gives this a good going over but seems to suffer a bit from too many ideas. Felt like he should have stuck with one and stomped on that gas pedal. Still a good version. > Cavern: Standard ENCORE: Loving Cup: Standard Second set summary: Another short set clocking in at 65 minutes with a 7:42 encore. Page did wake up for this set, by the way. Outside of Sample, this is not a bad set. But it is no better than average either. The only thing that I would revisit would be Bug. With just two songs that have replay value for me, I would rate this as a 3.0 out of 5. This is one of the weaker 1.0 shows that I saw. On to Irvine…
, attached to 1995-10-06

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: Ya Mar: Solid opener. Stash: Total face melter, this really rips. Billy Breathes: Standard. Reba: This Reba is fantastic. Perhaps not the tightest towards the end but the energy is unbeatable. Can’t beat a mid-set Reba of this quality. I'm Blue, I'm Lonesome, Rift > Free, The Lizards, Sample in a Jar: Standard. First set summary: Loved that Reba and would revisit. The rest, not so much. Very average set. SET 2: Poor Heart > Maze, Theme From the Bottom: Standard. These reads like a first set, not a second set. NICU: Mike’s bass is liquid, very cool and unique sounding for NICU. Kind of like you would hear from him in a 1999 version of Free. NICU doesn’t belong in the middle of the second set > Tweezer: Mike sounds amazing in this intro. It’s the Cactus show in the early going as Trey is doing his think on the percussion rack. Around ten minutes in this thing shifts to an almost jazzy sound. From there it gets very upbeat with Trey showing the way. Never really heard a Tweezer like this, very cool. By 11 or so things have gotten very spacey with Mike in the lead, Trey hanging way in the back. Trey is back at 13:15 and ramping things up. That Tweezer was a lot of fun. > Keyboard Army > Suspicious Minds > Hold Your Head Up: Standard stuff here. Slave to the Traffic Light: Good Slave, nothing too crazy. ENCORE: Hello My Baby, A Day in the Life: Standard. Second set summary: This show basically had two first sets. They definitely took a step backwards from the strong showing in Portland. Unfortunate based on how cool and intimate this venue in Vancouver was. Oh well. On to Spokane. I would rate this show a 3 out of 5. My least favorite of the tour so far. I would go back to Reba and Tweezer, but nothing else to my ear has replay value.
, attached to 1995-10-05

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: Chalk Dust Torture, Ha Ha Ha, The Fog That Surrounds, The Horse > Silent in the Morning, Cars Trucks Buses, Strange Design: This whole segment is straightforward and standard. The Fog That Surrounds played in 5 of 7 shows and Cars Trucks Buses played in 6 of the 7 shows thus far > Divided Sky: Major LOL @ Fish for not hitting his cymbal for A WHILE after Trey’s ‘note’. Exceptional version, it is truly ripped! Acoustic Army, Julius > Suzy Greenberg: Standard stuff here, Julius and Suzy are ripped and Trey trash talks the audience again RE: “We will crush you at chess” First set summary: Nothing crazy, just good, solid Phish and nice setlist flow. SET 2: Also Sprach Zarathustra > Runaway Jim, Colonel Forbin's Ascent > Fly Famous Mockingbird: This whole segment is completely on fire, that Runaway Jim is outstanding! The narration is Forbin’s is highly entertaining, ‘the concept of the matrix’ > Scent of a Mule: Typically not a fan but this one gets out there into space and was an enjoyable listen > Cavern: Really interesting placement here and a space jam comes out of nowhere and > David Bowie: This space jam goes on for a more than a minute and sort of mimics Cavern. Mike and Trey play well off one another in the 7’s. This is an above average Bowie. Nothing too outlandish, but enough to say it has replay value for future listening. Lifeboy: Love this after a strong Bowie. Amazing Grace: Always have been a fan of this, cool slot for it. ENCORE: While My Guitar Gently Weeps: Perfect, great way to end the show. Second set summary: They came out hot from setbreak and I loved that segment. Bowie was the centerpiece of this set although I bet many would argue Forbin’s holds that title. Regardless, both have replay value for me. This is a pretty good show and my second favorite of the tour so far just barely behind 9.29.95 from LA. I will rate this as a 3.55 out of 5.
, attached to 1999-10-04

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: Uncle Pen: Only the third time this had opened a show – last time was 8.30.92 Cal Expo Amp, opening for Carlos. Funky Bitch, Vultures: Both standard. Runaway Jim: Soaring short jam. Jesus Just Left Chicago: 4 white guys from Vermont do this version justice. Limb By Limb, Wilson: Both standard > Down with Disease: Rock gods, absolutely smoked which seems to be the theme for DwD’s on this tour. Keep in under 12 minutes and blister it. First set summary: Very solid set, lots of rock and roll that was full steam ahead. No breathers and no ballads. SET 2: Ghost: Machine Gun Trey in fine fashion. Much like DwD, this Ghost is full steam ahead, no letup – just pedal to the medal the whole way. Arena rock. Extremely impressive work from Trey. Awesome version. > Sample in a Jar, The Wedge > AC/DC Bag: Not a huge fan of this segment smack dab in the middle of the second set… > Makisupa Policeman: Nice, little jam > Sand: Can Sand rescue the set? Not exactly, no. Really good jam but does not break any new ground and stays in the same vein as every on the preceded except the OG from the Gorge which went way out there and dwarfs all other Sands to this point. > Ya Mar: What strange placement. Shows like this make me think they need to have a setlist in place before walking on stage. Character Zero: Rips as you might expect it would. This really is a rock and roll show. ENCORE: Rock and Roll: There you have it, a nod from the band telling us that this show was all about melting faces and less about noodle jams. Second set summary: Lots of problems in the lots with the cops and fear of the venue cancelling the show or shortening the curfew supposedly led to few jams and a hard core rock and roll show. Band blows off steam all show long, impressive really. More than happy to rate this show as a strong 3.75 out of 5.
, attached to 1994-10-31

Review by MrPalmers1000DollarQ

MrPalmers1000DollarQ At this point, it's truly impossible to deny the phenomenal grandeur of this band. This show is just [b]big[/b]. The first set boasts a gorgeous Simple, the first of its kind and a wonderful prototype for the song's potential. Hot on its heels is one of the greatest Divided Sky performances out there (2:22-2:26 is also my favorite Mike lick ever). Harpua is an obvious fan favorite, and Julius shreds extra hard. Reba joins Divided Sky as one of the greatest of its kind, notable for its unique quiet jam and slingshot into an all-time finish from Trey. The White Album set is obviously a massive highlight. Though I'd agree with others that this is one of the weaker costume sets from a musical perspective, the fun is endless and this set is owed massive credit for instigating a legendary tradition for Phish and its fans. Cry Baby Cry takes the cake for the best song from this set, in my opinion. Set 3 isn't quite as legendary as some of the Set 1 highlights, but it certainly carries weight with some awesome jamming. The David Bowie intro contains a sneaky Tommy Overture tease from Page--perhaps a hint for Halloween '95? The Bowie jam is wild and reckless, even if Type I. Fishman and Mike drive this one like a freight train. The quiet section in Slave is real pretty, and Antelope closes out with ferocity and chaos (it's a great year for this tune).
, attached to 1999-10-03

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: First Tube, Farmhouse, Dogs Stole Things, Divided Sky, Heavy Things, Horn > Carini, Ginseng Sullivan, Back on the Train, Maze, Bouncing Around the Room > Guyute First set summary: Long set – 88 minutes. Divided Sky is pretty good I thought. Really, everything is well played. Back on the Train seems to lack punch. There is just nothing here that I would ever want to revisit. SET 2: Twist: Nice, tight, rager > Possum: Not a fan of this in the two slot in the second set. > The Man Who Stepped Into Yesterday: Love this tune, who doesn’t? But in the middle of the second set? > Avenu Malkenu > Big Black Furry Creature from Mars: Set is doomed. David Bowie: Super creepy/dark/evil in the late 9’s. Crowd is quite amped. This jam goes 3.0/Major key jam starts around 11:20. Back into normal Bowie territory at 12:00. Serious Trey trilling in the early 15’s. Strong finish. Above average Bowie for the era for sure. Wading in the Velvet Sea: Big fan of the placement knowing that there is a Hood that comes after this. Page sounds all emo at 1:53? Trey’s solo is exceptional > Harry Hood: This Hood is incredible! I have no idea how this has not been on my radar all these years as I have listened to this show a couple times before now. But this sucker punches HARD with HUGE peaks. The fact that it is not a jamcharts version is criminal. ENCORE: Funky Bitch, Messin' with The Kid: Good stuff! Second set summary: Another very long set, 83 minutes and the encore is long too clocking in at just under 18 minutes. Bowie is solid, Wading is poignant, and Hood is exceptional. The set itself is choppy in the first half but does recover. This show is a far cry from how hot the band was through 10.2 – as such I would rate this as just a 3.5 out of 5.
, attached to 2019-12-08

Review by wavethatflag

wavethatflag Say what you will, but about 5:23 into "I Always Wanted It This Way" is some of the finest jamming, with Trey leading the way and the others laying the foundation, but then it really develops into a collaborative effort and is the height of group improvisation. This isn't a bad show, but the song selection especially later in the show will make many think it is.
, attached to 1999-10-02

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: Llama: Smokes coming out of the gate. Trey has that effect akin to playing Zeppelin backwards like in Antelope the night before and countless other times on this tour. Big fan. Wolfman's Brother: Slow and funky, Mike owns this. Really strange version in that this one just fades into the ether; Trey does not take a solo at all. Weird. Punch You in the Eye: Killer, elongated intro, super cool; Fish tries to push them out of this, but Page and Trey aren’t having it. > Quinn the Eskimo: Great placement for this rare tune. Poor Heart: Peep Fish egging on Page during his solo. Roggae: Standard. Split Open and Melt: Is it just me or does Fish kick this off a beat slower than normal? Big, ol’ loop to kick the jam off! Jam hits second level in the mid 10’s, Trey’s effects are just so unique to this year/tour. This version does not have a traditional peak but that does not matter as what came before it was mind bending stuff. Fun banter after the song is over. Manny on the drums, what was that all about? Trey “ I am the good lieutenant and don’t you forget it.” The Squirming Coil > Loving Cup: How cool is it to pair these songs, they were made for one another. This combination has only been done at 11.30.97, 9.19.99, 12.17.99. But 10.2.99 and 12.17 are the only two shows where they paired these two up and employed a > segue in between them. And there really should not be a segue here in this show there is a full beat between Coil and the beginning of Loving Cup. Actually I just went and listened to 12.17 and there should not be a segue there either. Get it together .net, lol. First set summary: Has exceptional flow, everything I am looking for in a first set, this one has. SOAMelt is the obvious highlight. Great set! SET 2: Tweezer: Love, love, love this version. So patient and slow through 10. The eventual ramp up and pay off is huge and into… > On Your Way Down: This was paired perfectly with that Tweezer – both that same feel – slinky and slow. Well done! > Piper: Buckle up, it’s on from jump street as they have no patience or time to waste as they ramp this one up with the quickness. Impressive shredding. This one is ballistic all the way up to the 11-minute range or so. They find a great theme and roll with that from 11:45 through 14:07 and then pick it back up from 14:51 through 16:00, outstanding! > You Enjoy Myself: Nice groove! Awesome placement. Frankenstein: Standard. Waste: Best Waste ever? Trey shreds this version like crazy, very impressive. ENCORE: While My Guitar Gently Weeps > Tweezer Reprise Second set summary: Tweezer sets the tone, Piper is an all timer, YEM is solid, and Waste is an awesome closer. Tweezer, Piper, and Waste all have replay value for sure. Awesome set! As good as the first set was and that great SOAMelt, I love this show. It’s so cohesive and has big guns. I am happy to rate this as a 4.45 out of 5.
, attached to 1995-10-02

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: Poor Heart, Wolfman's Brother, Rift: Straightforward and vanilla. Night Moves Jam > Night moves for chess move chat, great band! Stash: Solid yet unspectacular. Acoustic Army, The Fog That Surrounds, Theme From the Bottom: Standard. Tela: Beautiful version. Page changes a lyric. > David Bowie: Nice loops in the intro. Standard. First set summary: That is a forgettable set, nothing I would ever revisit unfortunately. SET 2: Wilson > Cars Trucks Buses, Bathtub Gin, Llama: Standard as they come. Simple: I like the spacey ending > Keyboard Army: Played in 4 of 5 shows on tour so far. Slave to the Traffic Light: Fishman on Electrolux in the early stage of the jam. Hello My Baby: Standard The Lizards: Interesting placement. Leading up to the Whoa whoa whoa vocals Trey and Page keep playing for a few more beats, it’s strange, it seems to be a screw up, it’s in the 7:20’s. Run Like an Antelope: Elongated quiet part before they launch into the noisy jam. Jam rages pretty well. Then some interesting stuff and effects leading up to the Rye, Rye, Rocco. Unique. ENCORE: A Day in the Life Second set summary: Simple and Antelope have replay value, I enjoyed both a good bit. Outside of that, nothing to see here; please disperse. Another tepid show as the tour is now five shows deep.
, attached to 1999-10-01

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: Chalk Dust Torture: This Chalkdust lights the crowd on fire, it’s on! The Moma Dance > Sparkle, First Tube: Standard and Solid. Bathtub Gin: Big time hose jam. Crowd gets soaked thoroughly from 13 minutes on. Check out the 16-minute mark. Big time peak! This is an all-timer! Trey is a Jedi! Heavy Things: Standard. Limb By Limb: Ripped this one a bit. Cavern: Standard. First set summary: Tons of energy, crowd is very hyped. Heard many stories over the years how crazy the lot was pre-show. This surely spilled over to the show, fans sound like they are nuts. No ballads in the first set, lots of ragers, an all-time Gin and a strong Limb. Very nice first set. Here is a great thread on Ames, lots of lot stories: https://www.phantasytour.com/bands/phish/threads/4838775/10-1-99#page/1 SET 2: NICU: This was the 5th and last time NICU opened a second set. Fun fact. > Run Like an Antelope: Is that The Lion Sleeps Tonight tease at 2:45? Listen to how patient and slow that this jam opens and eventually evolves. That is what Phish has been missing since they came back in 2009. I don’t know why that is, but it is sorely missed. I love the effect Trey employs starting at 7:20, sounds like Zeppelin playing Stairway to Heaven backwards. Nice release at 10:49 out of a good amount of tension. Solid Antelope right there. The Horse > Silent in the Morning: Standard > Gumbo: Again, like Antelope; just listen to how patient this jam is. This jam revels in the mellow and the murk. 9:35 Trey on mini keyboard. But only briefly (thankfully). Jam is eventually getting louder at 10:20, Page banging on the baby grand. Just a minute later this mellows out again and one more minute later… > Mountains in the Mist: Lovely, fits perfectly. Beautiful. Julius: Check out Trey’s held not from 6:28 through about 7:05, impressive. They rip this Julius > Fluffhead: While not the most technically proficient version, this one has some heart. Listen to Trey’s Fluffhead vocal hold. End shred is very nice! > Slave to the Traffic Light: This is what we call perfect placement! How about these loops in the composed section, absolutely awesome to ratchet up the intensity and then into that pretties. God, I love this band. Cannot believe how this rowdy got so quiet in the 5:20’s, so much respect for the band. Listen to Trey at 6:55, this is perfection. 8:05 briefly sounds like Ramble On. The crescendo is crushed pretty well, a bit of difficulty but it’s all about the energy, y’all. That Gin in set one is straight fire. I know I am likely overrating this show, but my grade is a 4.4 out of 5. How’s them apples? ENCORE: Bold As Love: Perfection. Absolute perfection. Nothing says the band is feeling it (for me) like a well-placed Bold as Love. And there you have it, people. Second set summary: That set just really does it for me. No all-time versions of anything but everything is in its right place with the proper energy. Antelope, Gumbo, Mountains in the Mist, Fluff and Slave all have replay value for me.
, attached to 2000-10-01

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: First Tube: Not as much Trey shredding as I am used to. More groove based. Tired from Vegas… > Wolfman's Brother: Has a bit of that good, ol rageahol, but not enough to get one to revisit. Back on the Train: Fresh off the hiatus announcement, these particular lyrics were raw for me at this show: “Now I'm gone, and I'll never look back again, I'm gone, and I'll never look back at all, You know I'll never look back again” Standard version Beauty of My Dreams: Standard. Vultures: Standard. The Inlaw Josie Wales: Love this. Absolutely love it. Billy Breathes: First set is very first set. Trey struggles a good bit with this one. Hiatus looms. Llama: Trey was likely looking to blow off steam after his BB struggles and ripped this one wide open with crazy effects and sounds. “Smack yourself in the face, turn to the person next to you and smack that person in the face, make passionate love the person next to you” LOL LOL LOL Lawn Boy: Standard. Runaway Jim: Build this up to a big peak but unfortunately Trey is all out of tune and sounds bad. The effort is there but the execution is not. Hiatus looms. First set summary: Outside of the Llama, there is just nothing here at all of substance. The band is still recovering from Vegas. My buddies that I convinced to come with me to Phoenix instead of going home to Denver after Vegas are giving me the serious side eye at this point. SET 2: Roses Are Free: Great opener, now we are getting somewhere. But, short and standard > Piper: Rips so hard, absolutely shredded. 7 minute and change version slips into -> Guy Forget: Debut. Only the most astute fans could have known what was going on here. Whether or not you were in the know, the jam is fantastic and becomes the clear highlight of the show. Here is the link to the history of Phish and Guy Forget, it is quite comical and worth your 5 minutes to read this https://phish.net/song/guy-forget/history Fishman is AMAZING in the 9’s with his work on his kit and wood blocks, you must listen to this! This jam gets way, way out there in the ether with big, big loops. Outstanding stuff if you are into that less is more jamming, kind of sparse and ambient in a few spots in this jam, this segues nicely into… -> When the Circus Comes: Not a fan then or now really, did not need all this momentum to come to a screeching halt, many likely will not hold this view. Played beautifully though. > Camel Walk: My first Camel Walk, so I was pumped! Driver: The start/stop of the momentum of the second set is annoying at this point. Driver deep, deep in the second set? C’mon man. David Bowie: Decent Bowie except Trey in the ending is sloppy here and there but there is nothing here that I would revisit. Good closer though. ENCORE: Waste: Not going to lie, I loved this in the E: slot. My buddies that were not continuing on with me to Chula were not amused. At all. Their last song before hiatus. Second set summary: Piper -> Guy Forget and Camel Walk make this a decent set for me. But outside of that the set is choppy with little flow in the. Coming off of a solid show in Denver and two ragers in Vegas I knew there was a big chance of a letdown in Phoenix. That is what this show is. I would rate this as a 3.5 out of 5. It is rated as a 3.93 on .net, that seems generous. Or I am just a cranky, old man. Likely a little from column A and a little from column B.
, attached to 2000-09-30

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: Walfredo: Technical difficulties held this one up. Those weren’t the only difficulties the band and us had on this night. Not sure about y’all, but I was WORE OUT from the night before and the morning of this show. And I was still in my twenties. And I know I didn’t party as hard as the band. I digress. Super cool Walfredo and surely, I will never see another. The Curtain With: Far from perfect but I loved it as I am sure most did. The band is showing the love to the folks at the show and those on the webcast too. Maze: Wheeeeew buddy, look out man. This one will rip your head right off. Seriously, just smokes! Going into Page’s solo, man...that loop and effect to set it into motion – money in the bank. Evil. Trey’s rhythm playing really pushes Page to his best. Totally egging Page on. Trey slays his solo! All that tension he builds, especially before the first peak and then just combusts into it. Won't soon forget it. Roggae: This chill tune was needed, perfect placement. Super annoying chompers showing up on this tape in Roggae, ugh. 4:50; incredible sounding effect. Trey and Mike playing off one another so well in this jam. I Didn't Know: Just call me Joe C, lol Mike's Song: No disrespect to the rest, but this Mike is all Trey. He shreds this version for 6 or so straight minutes, no second jam and it slams into… > Simple: Not much here unfortunately, couple minutes of jam and melts nicely into… > Saw It Again: After that Simple that went nowhere I was super pumped to hear this and thought this would be the perfect venue for it to finally go deep. No sir, not tonight unfortunately. Still scratch my head why this has only been jammed once, 12.12.97, seems like it would be a great jam vehicle? Esther: Hadn’t seen this since Buffalo 10.19.96 so I was pumped. “She died, she’s dead” > Weekapaug Groove: Trey, Mike and Fish have high energy in this jam, but Page sounds like he has low T, really low energy. This turns out into a really good jam that will be a standout for the evening. First Set Summary: Lots and lots to revisit here, Maze, Roggae, Mike’s and Weekapaug. Awesome set with major highlights and rarities. I don’t know how they pulled it off as they had to be running on empty. Great, great set. I mean, that is a second set masquerading as a first set. I bet we could all agree to that. SET 2: Timber (Jerry the Mule): Great opener! More dark energy. This jam has nice length to it, but it is quite mellow for the duration. AC/DC Bag: Here is what we need to ramp up the energy! “Carry me down, WAAAAAAAAAAAAY DOWN!” Wish Trey would have peaked this a lot more, the peak was rather tepid. He was probably pre-occupied with how he would handle what was to come next… Colonel Forbin's Ascent: Last time played was 8.7.98 Raleigh, 148 shows. I had not seen this since my first show 11.17.94 so I was over the moon and couldn’t wait for the narration. “And his blood shot eyes” and “And he dragged his WEARY s*** a** up the mountain” how appropriate for so many attendance!!! Trey definitely sounds nervous and emotional communicating about the hiatus. “Getting our home life together” hmmmm, interesting. > Fly Famous Mockingbird: Standard. Twist: Good solid jam and energy here > Sand: Boring, band is weary. > A Day in the Life: Huge bustout. Standard. ENCORE: Emotional Rescue: Huge bustout. The antics after the song are fun. Second set summary: Second longest show of the tour, second only to 9.17.00. Amazing they had enough in the tank to put this show together. Outside of the narration, there is nothing to come back to here in the second set. The first set definitely carries this show. Crazy two nights in Vegas. I was happy to be picking up stakes and moving on to Phoenix.
, attached to 1997-12-09

Review by radiator9987

radiator9987 This was a dark horse from 97. There are some fantastic runs with the Stash>I Am H> Weekapaug in the first set and Simple>Bowie Jam> Timber, a Timber that was vastly different than the one they played the night before with the Dayton almost going bliss and the Penn State getting a little dark. This is a top 5 Simple that covers so many spaces in its 30+ minutes.
, attached to 1995-09-30

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: My Friend, My Friend: Standard. Cars Trucks Buses: Now played in 4 straight shows. White Rabbit Jam: This is pretty cool. This jam is the backing music to Trey explaining how the chess match is going to work over the course of the tour. Tour head PüTzu gets the first move. He has a great review on .net of this show, check it out: https://phish.net/setlists/phish-september-30-1995-shoreline-amphitheatre-mountain-view-ca-usa.html > Reba: Played at the speed of light, seriously. Was Fishman trying to win a bet with Trey or something? Nuts. In the mid 8’s this takes on a bit darker and minor chord expedition but not for too long, perhaps 45 seconds to one minute. Then it explodes into familiar Reba jam territory and it’s a great, pent-up release. Uncle Pen: Standard. Horn: They play the Antelope intro for about 7 seconds then ditch it for Horn. Really strange. Other than that, this Horn is standard. Run Like an Antelope: Pretty standard to my ear, although it does take a brief left turn at 6.5. Gets fairly dark but just for about 30 seconds. It is back to being red hot and has killer trilling in the early 7’s, but for the era…kind of a run of the mill Antelope. I'm Blue, I'm Lonesome[1] Trey says "We wanted to send this one out. This is the last place, that personally myself and I know two other guys in the band, saw Jerry alive and we thought this would be a good opportunity to play one of his favorite songs cause I know he's up there listening. This is for you Jerry!" Beautiful nod to Jerry. Sample in a Jar: Listening to the opening notes ring out from Trey’s guitar. Absolutely gives me crazy goosebumps. That tone, so crisp and clear. Outstanding, takes me right back to my first couple of years seeing the band. First set summary: I enjoyed Reba, Antelope, and I’m Blue, I’m Lonesome. It’s a solid first set but surely won’t win any awards. SET 2: Runaway Jim: Trey referencing the chess match “The Portuguese defense, huh? HA! We will crush you!” Check out the crazy Trey scratching effects between verses – this goes on for 40-50 seconds, pretty cool and unique. Solid opener > The Fog That Surrounds: Standard. If I Could: > Gorgeous, awe inspiring. Why they won’t play this song like this anymore makes no sense to me. Listening to this version reminds me why I have been in love with this band for almost three decades. Scent of a Mule: Page for the win in the duel. Crazy effects at 8:10, woah. Mike's Song: First jam has the dark edge to it! Second jam is mostly boring space unfortunately where they are just doing what it takes to align for a segue into… -> Keyboard Army: Played in three of the first four shows of the tour. Weekapaug Groove: Trey employs that scratching again like in Runaway Jim but only briefly in the intro. Cool little breakdown at 5:25 that gets funky that melds into heavy metal at 6:15 and then back into traditional ‘Paug territory at 6:45 for a moment. Another breakdown and then an absolutely brilliant segue into… -> Suspicious Minds[2] Fun listening to some folks near/in the taper’s section realize the awesome segue and what the tune was. First time played seemed well received > Hold Your Head Up: 45 seconds > Cavern: Standard. ENCORE: Amazing Grace: Standard. Good Times Bad Times: Standard. Second set summary: I would happily revisit If I Could and Weekapaug Groove -> Suspicious Minds[2]. Outside of that there is nothing to sink my teeth into. Kind of like the first four shows of this tour, largely toothless. First night of Shoreline was the best of this two-night run. [1] Acoustic. [2] Phish debut. Trey teased Call to the Post before My Friend and Antelope before Horn. This show was the beginning of the Band/Audience Chess Match that continued throughout the fall tour. Page and a tour-head named "Pooh" played a few moves to set up the board during the White Rabbit jam in the first set. Suspicious Minds made its Phish debut. I’m Blue I’m Lonesome was dedicated to Jerry Garcia and was acoustic.
, attached to 1999-09-29

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: Runaway Jim: Great opener. To me, this one is a great example of machine gun Trey. He just shreds this one to pieces. Outstanding Jim. > Free: This is my kind of Free, nice, and slow with Cactus leading and big loops to accompany it all. Similar to my favorite Free, 7.9.99. This one here is a great version! Driver: Standard. Taste: Trey and Page do a great job of building tension and then Trey unleashes the machine gun again. Good Taste. Dirt: Standard, love this tune so much. Nellie Kane: Standard, Stash tease. Stash: What’s that brief vocal from Trey at 2:10? Love the tension building breakdown that starts in the mid 7’s. Everyone plays a significant part, but I especially love Fish on the wood blocks. What this out of nowhere? -> I Can't Turn You Loose Jam: First I Can’t Turn You Loose since December 29,1997 (108 shows), when it also appeared as a jam. Cool I guess but would have preferred to have heard what that Stash could have done as it had all the earmarks of a good version. Trey announced a contest where the winner would receive four tickets and backstage passes to any show in the next year and, jokingly, a date with Fish. The question centered on what all of the songs played in the first set, with the exception of Driver, had in common. The answer was that all songs were in the Key of D. Happy Birthday was also played (for Trey) during the contest announcement. Theme From the Bottom: Standard, sounded great. > Tweezer Reprise: Well, this came out of nowhere. Guess they loved playing it so much the night before that they had to break it out again this night Or finally reprising the Tweezer from New Orleans? First set summary: Great one, two punch to open this show with the Jim > Free. Taste was very solid too. Kind of a lull with Dirt and Nellie, but that is fine and well earned. Tons of fun but outside of Jim > Free not much to revisit here. SET 2: Gotta Jibboo: Based on how slow this is out of the gate and into the jam, I would wonder how big the party was at set break? > Also Sprach Zarathustra: DIE DIE DIE. Total jam fest. All timer for sure. First jam doesn’t even hit until 12 minutes in! Mike’s bass is LIQUID after the first jam. Trey comes in behind him and it sounds like Hendrix is up on that stage. Super sick. > Down with Disease: This rips so unbelievably hard, Trey is a rock god. Check him out at 7:50 and tell me that doesn’t remind you of the DwD from 12.11.97 / Bittersweet Motel? This version is finish, outstanding DwD, would highly recommend. Billy Breathes: Breather is needed here. Good placement. Back on the Train: Standard. Long pause before the next song. Mike's Song: What is the theme that Trey is messing around with as the jam gets going? Jam sort of plods along redundantly when suddenly… > Catapult: Mike’s slams right into Catapult… > Mike's Song: Funky for 40 seconds then slams into… > Kung: Does it’s Kung thing and then slams back into… > Mike's Song: Right back into the funk but only momentarily before another slam into… > I Didn't Know: Vacuum Weekapaug Groove: Smoking but short. ENCORE: Cities[1] They had to play this and had some fun with the lyrics. Second set summary: One of the best 2001’s you will every hear, extended beyond belief. They summoned aliens on this night with this version. The DwD that follows will blister your behind, a phenomenal version. Tons or replay value there. The crazy stuff that happens with the Mike’s fest that happens is a ton of fun and must have been a blast in person. That Mike’s jam is super funky and it’s too bad that couldn’t have been explored a bit more, but I get it. I would rate this show as 4.3 out of 5. Jim, Free, 2001, DwD and the Mike’s fest have tons of replay value. Trey certainly had fun on his birthday in Memphis. [1] Altered lyrics. Stash ended with the first I Can’t Turn You Loose since December 29,1997 (108 shows), when it also appeared as a jam. Before Theme From the Bottom, Trey announced a contest where the winner would receive four tickets and backstage passes to any show in the next year and, jokingly, a date with Fish. The question centered on what all of the songs played in the first set, with the exception of Driver, had in common. The answer was that all songs were in the Key of D. Happy Birthday was also played (for Trey) during the contest announcement. Cities was an appropriate choice as an encore for Memphis, and Trey altered the lyrics a bit for the occasion.
, attached to 2000-09-29

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: Carini: Energy pre-show was super intense. People were ready to get down and thoroughly prepared to do so. The opening notes of Carini shook Thomas & Mack, fans were in full throat, yours truly included these being my first Phish shows in Sin City. Fish straight up SCREAMING Carini Had a Lumpy Head at the end. Nuts. Rift: Not perfect by any stretch, but the effort and energy are all there. Frankenstein: Awesome in the three hole, just ratchets up the energy that much more if that was even possible. Scrambled my eggs BIG TIME. Mellow Mood: The irony of this being played at one of the bands more rock and roll shows of all time is not lost on me. Good stuff. Probably good they gave us a breather because folks were bouncing off the walls. Wilson[1] 4.5 minutes in and this one is just…different than most versions. Gets ugly and sinister, absolutely brilliant! Has such an edge to it, evil Phish. > Spock's Brain: Way, way, way out of left field. Took me a good minute to figure it out. Huge bust out. > Bathtub Gin: Out of the composed section the jam is speedy and upbeat. A slower pace is recognized around 9 minutes and the Chicagoans in attendance get the rest of us to clap along and band obliges. Mike is owning faces in this segment and beyond. The peak is incredible, not sure why this version has generated a bit more love over the years. If I could bottle the feeling I had during this and sold it, I would be a billionaire. Cloud nine > Character Zero: Rock stars, arena rock stars. Just crushed. First set summary: I was floored! Regarding replay value, I would definitely advise anyone reading to checkout Wilson and Gin. Both are fantastic. But I had a ton of fun relistening to the whole thing just now remembering so much of what happened from 22 years ago. At set break, spirits were soaring. The wave got going and a frisbee was being tossed for the narrow side of the second deck, across the floor and over to the other side of the arena in the second deck. Ever seen that happen? Nuts! SET 2: Dinner and a Movie: Another epic bust out, last played was the Slip, Stich and Pass show first since March 1, 1997, or 242 shows. What a way to come out of the set break swinging a very heavy bat! The Moma Dance: This Moma rages in a way that few ever have or will. It is just incredibly fierce. Words won’t do it justice, but you listening to it will. Little space jam tacked on to the ending > Also Sprach Zarathustra: The place is melting at this point and grooving as one. Super cool to be a part of this. Walk this Way tease early on. > Fluffhead: Pretty well played and big, ol’ end shred has the arena on fire. Cool little space jam into… > Meatstick: Standard > Walk This Way[2] When Kid came out, I was disappointed. I felt like the show was on its way to all timer type territory if they played a couple more bangers. But oh well. Screechy screech time. Rapper's Delight[2] Fishman antics were funny You Shook Me All Night Long[3] Screeeeech ENCORE: We're an American Band[4] I had badly wanted to see this since hearing the tapes from 11.16.96. The alternate lyrics were…eye opening. Second set summary: Moma, whew buddy, so much replay value there and really through Meatstick is just a ball. So much fun and the band and the fans are intimately connected throughout. The Kid Rock stuff has kind of grown on me over the years, it is what it is. I love this show, always will and likely have severe attendance bias. With the Wilson, Gin and Moma standouts I would rate this a strong 4.1 out of 5. [1] Heavy metal jam. [2] Phish debut, Kid Rock on guest vocals. [3] First Phish performance in its entirety, Kid Rock on guest vocals. [4] Kid Rock on guest vocals. Wilson included a heavy metal jam, complete with Trey waving his guitar in the air. Kid Rock provided guest vocals from Walk This Way through the encore. Walk This Way and Rapper’s Delight (with funny stage antics from Fish, who danced on his knees like Kid’s sidekick Joe C.) were Phish debuts. You Shook Me (All Night Long) was played in its entirety by Phish for the first time, although it had been jammed on other occasions. Walk This Way was also teased during 2001. Spock’s Brain (first since June 24, 1995, or 391 shows), Dinner and a Movie (first since March 1, 1997, or 242 shows), and American Band (first since November 16, 1996, or 271 shows) returned after long absences. The Carini opener was preceded by a Wilson tease and saw Trey have several problems with his guitar. Meatstick featured Mike and Trey doing the Meatstick dance.
, attached to 1995-09-29

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround PHISH, FRIDAY 09/29/1995 GREEK THEATRE Los Angeles, CA Soundcheck: Jam, Dog Log, Funk Jam > Funky Bitch, Poor Heart SET 1: AC/DC Bag: Hot fire to get this show off on the right foot > Sparkle: Standard > Divided Sky: Fall 95 perfection. Strange Design: Nice cool down and chance to catch your breath. Cars Trucks Buses: Three shows in a row. You Enjoy Myself: Love the placement. After the composed section, the jam starts off pretty quiet but builds into a screamer as you would expect. Sweet Adeline: Standard. Suzy Greenberg: Hot closer. First set summary: Very solid. This is a well-constructed setlist and the playing is great. I don’t have anything that I would revisit necessarily, but that is not a demerit on the tunes and the playing. SET 2: Also Sprach Zarathustra: Nice and spacey with some nice loops and effects > Maze: Absolutely smoked! Trey sounds so good! Free: Not a big fan of this era of Free, just sort of drones on to my ears as does this version. Ya Mar: I know they used to play this tune a good bit in the second set but that largely disappeared starting with US 98 summer tour. I am not a big fan of the placement here. Playing is fine though. Split Open and Melt: This one does in fact get out there a decent bit, nothing too crazy but still hold on to your hat. Trey does seem to rip chord the ending a bit and catching the others by surprise? Billy Breathes: Three shows in a row. Set is now officially choppy. Beautifully played though. Hold Your Head Up > Cryin'[1] > Hold Your Head Up: LOL at Fish’s commentary before Cryin: “Alright I’m not too proud, I don’t know the words to this song, so I have my cheat sheet. The fact that I don’t know the words isn’t the point.” LOL!!! Page: “That wasn’t too bad” Trey: “That was for Bert Goldstein” A Day in the Life: Standard. ENCORE: Chalk Dust Torture: Standard face melter. Not seen in the encore slot since 7.14.94 at Finger Lakes. Trey at the end “We apologize for that guy” Did some wook jump up on stage? Second set summary: No flow, too choppy. For me, I feel like I would go back and listen to 2001 > Maze and SOAMelt, but that’s it. The show is solid 95 fare but the setlist construction leaves something to be desired. As such, I would rate this show as a 3.6 out of 5. [1] Phish debut. Cryin’ made its Phish debut at this show. In the soundcheck, Dog Log was performed in a funk style and Poor Heart was a cappella.
, attached to 2019-12-30

Review by Pagegrrl34

Pagegrrl34 This Tweezer. I can't love this band more than I do during this monster. Around 22:30-ish > 23:00 I swear I hear Morning Dew. The entire show is tits but the 2nd set is everything because of the Tweezer. They are so locked in and we reap all the blissful orgasmic JOY. We are beyond lucky to have found this band. Nobody beats Phish. No one ever could. 31:00-32:00 reminds us why we will always love Trey.
, attached to 1999-09-28

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround OAK MOUNTAIN AMPHITHEATRE Pelham, AL SET 1: Wolfman's Brother: Crowd is super pumped before the start of this. Composed section is really snapping and popping, Mike sounds GREAT. Big ol’ loop at 9:15. Solid jam, nothing that will knock your socks off with historic respect regarding this song – but what a way to get this show underway! Sneakin' Sally Through the Alley[1] – Not played since Oswego, 26 show gap. Nice, funky little jam but this doesn’t really merit being on jamcharts, right? Tube: Pretty much any version from 99 is bound to impress. This one is no different. Ginseng Sullivan: Standard > Roggae: Mike dropping big bombs! Maze: Smokes! Must have left many craters. Wading in the Velvet Sea: Perfect placement and played perfectly, would re-listen for sure – this one has something extra. Harry Hood: Unbelievable version. I hold this version in high regard. Great version regardless of ANY era. To close a first set is extra special. Trey gushes about how much they love the venue. ‘Don’t do anything we wouldn’t do.’ SET 2: Farmhouse: Has that extra something, played with a lot of heart and emotion. Great opener! Heavy Things: Standard. First Tube: Energy is through the roof at this point. Fans are frothing at the mouth, and then… Tweezer: Fans are rewarded! Just the third of four Tweezer’s played on the entire tour. Sick loops employed to kick the jam, multiple layers. Headspace!!!! Trey and Mike team up in the 8- and 9-minute range to perfection, playing off one another. Just incredible. Trey is lead in the latter 9-minute range. I LOVE how the loops remain constant through the jam, always present and adding an extra edge. Trey lays back in the 11.5-minute range, deferring to Page. But a theme is discovered largely by Trey in the early 12’s. 13 even Trey breaks everyone out of this loudly and the fans love it, but this is brief, and they delve back into that theme. The fans are son engaged that a Chicago style clap along comes about around 14:50, and the band completely follows the fans, so awesome!!!!!!! > Makisupa Policeman: Huge ovation once Makisupa is realized Key word schwaaaaaag There are so many cool effects going on in this one, for me; it is difficult to tell who is doing what. I love that! Trey on mini keyboard at 5:13 but only briefly. This jam is lengthy and awesome. Great pick for Live Bait volume 19. Chalk Dust Torture: What a jolt to the system coming out of that mellow Makisupa jam. They are briefly out of sync in the early going, but only briefly. Fans going off throughout – this show has SOOOO much energy. Little sloppy towards the end, but it is all about the ENERGY. You Enjoy Myself: Wow. Could not be a better set closer. Absolute perfection. Nirvana section is sublime and patient. 5 minute mark Page and Trey get pretty crossed up but just briefly. The funk jam that breaks out here is to die for. Imagine fans were just getting down so hard to this. At 17 minutes they go for the vocal jam. ENCORE: Halley's Comet: Sloppy, Trey struggles a good bit > Tweezer Reprise: Ripped! Second set summary. Wow, just wow. This show is one I will hold near and dear as long as I can breathe yet did not attend. From the opener to the closer, the band recognizes energy and returns it in spades. Beautiful night in Alabama. It’s cool how Phish can light crowds on fire outside of their traditional strongholds and this show is a perfect example. Fantastic set and show. Would rate this higher than I know most would: 4.5 out of 5. Fight me! [1] No vocal jam. The YEM vocal jam included Sweet Home Alabama quotes.
, attached to 1995-09-28

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SUMMER POPS, EMBARCADERO CENTER San Diego, CA Soundcheck: Gumbo, All Things Reconsidered, Mound, The Fog That Surrounds, Hello My Baby Fair warning, the source on the Relisten App is rough in that there is a ton of crowd noise seemingly right on top of this microphone. SET 1: Cars Trucks Buses: Played on back-to-back nights. Runaway Jim: Nicely ripped! Billy Breathes: Played on back-to-back nights. Scent of a Mule: Standard. Stash: Not much going on here, played very close to the vest. Fee[1] Standard -> The Fog That Surrounds: This is version you need to hear simply for the comic relief. Fish completely forgets his lyrics and they literally have to restart the whole tune. Trey was like, Fish I think you need to redo, that – we are going to redo that – or something like that. Funny stuff. They egg Fish on with some HYHU stuff, lol. Acoustic Army: Standard Slave to the Traffic Light: This was rock solid, loved what I just heard. At this point in their career, Slave had only closed a first set three times: 4.27.84, 4.24.94, 6.7.95. First set summary: I enjoyed Runaway Jim and Slave. Both I would relisten to again. SET 2: Theme From the Bottom: Standard > Poor Heart: Standard. If you are listening to the source on the Relisten app, the crowd noise right on top of this taper’s microphone is brutal. Don't You Want To Go? Standard. Last time played ☹ Tweezer: Standard. There isn’t much to sink your teeth into here at all. The last couple of minutes get a bit out there and then segue into… > Keyboard Army: Standard. Amazing Grace: Standard. Sample in a Jar: Standard. This deep in the second set, c’mon man. Run Like an Antelope: Standard, short, curfew’d? ENCORE: Fire: Standard. Super short curfew and a short Antelope = must have been up against the clock. [1] Trey sang verses through megaphone. HYHU was teased after Fog That Surrounds. Second set summary: Nothing at all grabbed me – nothing that I would ever come back to unfortunately.
, attached to 2000-09-27

Review by spreaditround

spreaditround SET 1: Sample in a Jar: Good energy out of the gate. My Friend, My Friend: Cool little jam tacked on to the end. Beauty of My Dreams > Standard My Soul: Slower and jazzy intro. This version rocks. Limb By Limb: Trey absolutely CRUSHES this, absolutely a highlight. Just smokes! Dirt: Good place for a breather after that Limb face melter. Split Open and Melt: Don’t sleep on this version, it flies under the radar but is a rocking version. I was blown away by it at the show in the moment. Horn: Had forgot how badly Trey struggles on this one, he has a multiple Marty McFly disappearing hand moments. Ouch. They also mess up the vocals at the end. Taste: Standard. Cavern: Standard. First set summary: Good flow and energy throughout. Limb by Limb and SOAMelt have replay value for sure. Solid set. SET 2: Piper: Check out the tension they build at 5:37 and then just explode at 5:58. I LOVE IT, makes me smile every time I hear it and it’s something I want to hear in every Piper I have heard since this night. The effects that start at 10:13 – some of my favorite Phish happens from here through the end, just incredible. > Gumbo: I love the chill theme they get on to at 5:45 and ride that through 7:25. 12:17 Trey power chords and Fishman egging him on for harder, faster, louder. Epic. > Ghost: This Ghost is no slouch, very underrated. Pretty aggressive version, especially for the time period. Total face melter right here! > The Mango Song: Nicely jammed. Heavy Things: Groaned then and groaned just now. Really long pause after this before they start up Brother… Brother: Huge bustout, 153 gap since last played at 7.28.98 You Enjoy Myself ENCORE: Loving Cup [1] No "Myfe" ending. The My Friend ending did not contain the "Myfe" lyric. Brother was played for the first time since July 28, 1998 (153 shows) after which Trey commented, “That song is all about the ending.”
, attached to 2022-09-25

Review by BrotherOpener

BrotherOpener Soundcheck from my sonic vantage in the west porch: I Never Needed You Like This Before, I Never Left Home (!), hey stranger, Julius. Julius was fully played; they were working out ideas for that one. Great show. It was my birthday, surrounded by excellent friends and love, weather was stellar. Got my birthday Jibboo too!
You can still access archived Phish.net reviews
Support Phish.net & Mbird


Phish.net

Phish.net is a non-commercial project run by Phish fans and for Phish fans under the auspices of the all-volunteer, non-profit Mockingbird Foundation.

This project serves to compile, preserve, and protect encyclopedic information about Phish and their music.

Credits | Terms Of Use | Legal | DMCA

© 1990-2022  The Mockingbird Foundation, Inc. | Hosted by Linode